Chamber Awards 12 Scholarships at Annual Education Breakfast

The Harford County Chamber of Commerce hosted its annual Education & Scholarship Breakfast on Friday, June 9th, at Towson University in Northeastern Maryland. This event celebrates the Harford County Chamber of Commerce Education Foundation scholarship recipients and recognizes the Harford County Public Schools’ Teacher of the Year. Furthermore, the event serves as an opportunity for the business community to gather and network with future leaders while supporting educational development in Harford County.


Through the Harford County Chamber of Commerce Education Foundation (501c3) and sponsors, scholarships are annually awarded to deserving Harford County high school seniors, returning adults, and returning veterans. In addition to businesses that directly sponsor scholarships through the Harford County Chamber of Commerce Education Foundation, the Harford County Chamber secures scholarship funds by hosting an annual Mini Golf tournament.  This year’s fundraiser, sponsored by Weyrich, Cronin & Sorra, was held at Mountain Run Mini Golf and generated $3,000.00.  As a business association, the Harford County Chamber is proud to offer these scholarships toward the continuing education of our local men and women who will become contributing members of our local business community.  


The Harford County Chamber of Commerce extends its sincere gratitude to the 2023 scholarship sponsors: Harford County Public Library, Freedom Federal Credit Union, APG Federal Credit Union, Towson University in Northeastern Maryland, and Jarrettsville Federal Savings and Loan. The Education and Scholarship Breakfast was sponsored by Towson University of Northeastern Maryland and Harford Community College. 


The breakfast began with welcome remarks from John Desmone, Executive Director of Towson University in Northeastern Maryland. Michael Brogley, the Harford County Public Schools Teacher of the Year, addressed attendees and highlighted his passion for inspiring the next generation of leaders through education. He encouraged everyone in attendance to invest in each other, saying, “the best investment you will ever make is in people. That investment will carry on long after you are gone. Every day that you go to work or to school, you have the opportunity to invest in people”. Mr. Brogley was presented with the Golden Apple Award for his dedication and accomplishments. The award was presented by Golden Apple sponsor and previous Harford Chamber Board Chair, Lee Tayson, Comparion Insurance Agency.


Each student was presented with their scholarship certificate and recognized for their outstanding accomplishments. Twelve scholarships were awarded this year, the highest number of scholarships presented in over a decade. 


On April 25th of this year, Dr. William “Bill” B. Seccurro, past Harford County educator and President and CEO of the Harford County Chamber of Commerce, passed away at the age of 80. Annually, the Harford County Chamber of Commerce Education Foundation honors Dr. William Seccurro by awarding the $1,000 Dr. William B. Seccurro Teacher and Education Scholarship to a high school senior focusing on a career in teaching. After serving the Harford County Public School System for 34.5 years, Bill enjoyed a second career as the President and CEO of the Harford County Chamber of Commerce from 2000 to 2011.  He was a very active member of the Harford Business Roundtable for Education, and later served as Chair. His tireless dedication to our community has left an edible mark on our schools and our children’s futures. Dr. Seccurro was respected by all who had the privilege to meet him and his contributions to the Chamber will live on for many years.

View photos from the mini-golf fundraiser here and photos from the Education & Scholarship Breakfast here

Share This Post

About author:-